Robot Hall Of Fame

The January issue of Wired Magazine had an article that attempted to list the “50 Best Robots Ever”, but kind of fell very short of the mark. At least it triggered a lot of discussion and debate over which robots really have been the best – and caused us to check out the Robot Hall of Fame. . .

The “Robot Hall of Fame” was created by the Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science in the Spring of 2003. Its charter is to “. . . honor landmark achievements in robotics technology and the increasing contributions of robots to human endeavors.” but isn’t restricted to actual, physical robots. In fact, there are two categories for the robots inducted into the Robot Hall of Fame, Robots from Science, and Robots from Science Fiction.

The initial inductees, in 2003, were the Mars Pathfinder Sojourner Rover, Unimate, R2-D2, and HAL 9000. In 2004, ASIMO, Shakey, Astro Boy, C-3PO, and Robby the Robot were added to the list of honored robots.

So, what about Optimus Prime, Johnny 5, R. Daneel Olivaw, or your own personal favorite? Most of them are on the list for 2005, but no selection has been announced yet – at least as far as we can tell from the website.

According to the Robot Hall of Fame website the current jury responsible for the final section consists of a who’s who of technology and robotics, including James Morris (jury Moderator),  Minoru Asada, Ruzena Bajcsy, Gordon Bell, Rodney Brooks, Randal Bryant, Arthur C. Clarke, Henrik Christensen, Joanna Haas, Ray Jarvis, Takeo Kanade, Don Marinelli, Illah Nourbakhsh, Raj Reddy, Chuck Thorpe, Sherry Turkle, Steve Wozniak, and Will Wright. You couldn’t ask for a better group to act as the jury. 

Related links:

The Robot Hall of Fame

Wired Magazine - 50 Best Robots Ever


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>